LibGuides: HS CIC: Earth and Environmental Science

Government Databases

EPA Environmental Topics
Articles, datasets, and regulations on a variety of environmental topics provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Natural Hazards Data, Images and Education
NCEI archives and assimilates tsunami, earthquake and volcano data to support research, planning, response and mitigation. Long-term data, including photographs, can be used to establish the history of natural hazard occurrences and help mitigate against future events. Provided by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Tools and Resources from the NOAA
Visualizations, animations, launch information, reports and data analyses covering weather, oceans, coastal ecosystems, and fisheries. Provided by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association
Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet
Satellite imagery, datasets and analysis, and articles about global climate change provided by NASA.
My NASA Data
Suite of resources that provides datasets and data visualizations on a variety of environmental topics.
NASA Scientific Visualization Studio
Video data visualizations. Videos include 2020 hurricane season; 3 decades of animal migrations condensed into a minute. VERY COOL!
European Space Agency
Check out the ESA Applications for Observing the Earth. This site offers satellite imagery and data for advancing knowledge about Earth, watching the weather, and improving lives.

NASA Scientific Visualization Studio

This video comes from the NASA Scientific Visualization Studio YouTube channel. This channel creates videos from data available on My NASA Data. See links above!

Library Databases

Britannica This link opens in a new window
In addition to images and videos, Encyclopedia Britannica offers students informational articles at all reading levels to support their research.
Gale: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
Browse this cross-searchable platform for research insight from journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank will support middle and high school students when searching for feature articles and/or information on current events.

Library Database Usernames & Passwords

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search has indexed almost 25 million of these datasets, giving you a single place to search for datasets and find links to where the data is.
Dataset Search Quick Guide

Resource Lists

Earth and Environmental Science Books
All books are available for checkout from the AISC HS Library.
NYTimes: Climate and Environment Section
News articles, maps, and explainers by the New York Times.
JSTOR for Climate Change Research
This guide highlights JSTOR's open access content related to climate change, and the tools available to enhance your research.

Mapping Extreme Weather Events

Billion-Dollar Weather and Climate Disasters: Mapping
US-based
Natural Disaster Hotspots
world-wide