LibGuides: HS CIC: Research

Our Subscriptions

A database is an organized collection of information. Content within the database is chosen for its quality and relevance. We pay for databases because they contain organized, accurate, scholarly information.

Databases are not cited as a source, but they are included in the citation of any source (article, video, book, image, etc.) that is found there. Databases provide a citation for each source--just copy and paste it.

Our databases are Gale , JSTOR, and Statista. (see detailed database list in the Research Resources tab)

News sources contain current events and often archives of past events.

Our news sources are The New York Times, The Day, The Economic Times, The Times of India, The Hindu and The New Indian Express.

Reference sources give general, factual information. Examples of reference sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses.

Our reference sources are Britannica School and Gale eBooks.

Research Guides

Up your research game with these handy guides!

JSTOR Research Basics
There's a lot of digital content out there, and we want to help you get a handle on it. Where do you start? What do you do? How do you use it? Don’t worry, this course has you covered.
Harvard Guide to Using Sources
This handy guide covers the whys and hows of using sources in research. Special focus is given to citations and avoiding plagiarism.
How to Plan a Research Project
Whether for a paper or a thesis, define your question, review the work of others – and leave yourself open to discovery in four clear steps.

What are you looking for?

Are you looking for general information?

Try Britannica School, Gale in Context: High School, Gale eBooks

Are you looking for primary sources?

Try JSTOR, Britannica School "Primary Sources & e-Books," or Gale Literature: LitFinder

Are you looking for up-to-date information on current events and world news?

Try The New York Times, Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints, Gale in Context: Global Issues, or Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Are you looking for data, statistics, case studies?

Try Statista, Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy, or JSTOR.

Links to all subscriptions can be found on the Research Resources page.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

A primary source contains raw information and first-hand evidence of an event or topic. The original work presented without interpretation.

A secondary source interprets, analyzes, or summarizes a primary source.

Primary Sources

Historical research requires primary sources. Primary sources are documents and artefacts that were created by someone participating in or observing the event, usually at the time of the event. Primary sources are the evidence of history that researchers use to analyze and interpret the past.

Examples of primary sources are: