LibGuides: HS CIC: Gr10 Poetry as Protest

Poetry Readings

Poetry Collections

Poems of Protest, Resistance, and Empowerment
The selection of poems below call out and talk back to the inhumane forces that threaten from above. They expose grim truths, raise consciousness, and build united fronts.
Protest Poetry
Throughout history, poetry has always spoken in the most challenging, tragic, and formative circumstances. Poets have been at the forefront of wielding language to create change for the people. Explore the work of Elizabeth Alexander, Agha Shahid Ali, Maya Angelou, James Baldwin, Marilyn Chin, Aracelis Girmay, Langston Hughes, June Jordan, Audre Lorde, Claudia Rankine, Roger Reeves, Adrienne Rich, and Muriel Rukeyser, to name just a few.

Book Lists

Poetry
A curated collection of poetry and poetry anthologies, available for checkout in the HS Library.
Protest Movements
A curated collection of books about protests movements, both current and historical, around the world. Available for checkout in the HS Library.

Project Details

Poetry Presentations: Poetry As Protest

In pairs, you will create an 8-10 minute documentary video on a poet and their protest for social justice. Your objective is to analyze a poem/song/video in order to see how a poet has constructed meaning in the context of a social justice movement. Your video will be presented to your class.

Poetry As Protest Presentation Assignment 2023

Library Databases

Britannica School High
Britannica School is an online library of hundreds of thousands of high-quality readings, videos and images created and maintained by Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Gale in Context: Biography
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
Gale World History
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
JSTOR
Access thousands of academic journals, open-access books, and primary source material.
PressReader
Access over 7000 newspaper and magazine publications in 65+ different languages.

Websites & Articles

Censorpedia: An Interactive Database of Censorship Incidents
An interactive wiki of censorship incidents from the Iron Age to the 21st century. The archive contains more than 1,000 censorship incidents from around the world.
Poetry of Resistance: From the anti-CAA protests in India
Poetry written about and used by protesters of the Citizenship Amendment Act, passed by India's parliament in 2019.
Poetry in a Time of Protest By Edwidge Danticat
A reflection on the necessity and power of poetry in the wake of the 2016 US Presidential Election